

2015 SCOM election

The Electoral Commission of NSW (ECNSW) has declared the following eight candidates elected unopposed following the close of nominations for the 2015-2018 State Committee on Monday:

Central Coast Sub-Branch Secretary Ken Smith Illawarra Sub-Branch Secretary Andrew Haas Senior Officers Sub-Branch Secretary Michael Morris Sydney Central West Sub-Branch Secretary Brendan Rea Sydney Inner West Sub-Branch Secretary Martin Dixon Sydney Outer West Sub-Branch Secretary **Trevor Ross** Sydney South West Sub-Branch Secretary James Cassel Sydney South Sub-Branch Secretary Michael Nairn

A ballot for the remaining nine positions will take place, unless the remaining candidates withdraw their nominations by midday on Monday with the ECNSW posting voting material to all financial members on 30 March 2015. Ballot papers must be returned by 5pm on 13 April 2015 to be counted.

I welcome those comrades who are taking office for the first time, and take this opportunity to thank them for standing up for their fellow members. A number of the current officials chose to not contest this ballot. I recognise and thank them for their hard work over the last three years. A special thank you also goes to their families, without whose support your Union's officials would not be able to do the job we do.

Junior Vice-President Matt Murray is one official who is not contesting this election after retiring from FRNSW. Matt has been a tireless fighter for working people and union rights in a 37 year career across three fire services since 1978. There will be a toast to celebrate Matt's contribution following his final State Committee meeting at the Union office next Thursday, 26 March. All members are welcome to attend.

Firefighters for parliament, and for the Central Coast

SITREP 3 reported that Senior Firefighter and member Jeff Sundstrom is running for Labor in the seat of Terrigal. The FBEU is also campaigning in the marginal Sydney seat of Oatley, so we're asking any members who can spare an hour or two next Saturday in either seat to contact the Union office asap.

The ALP's support for the upgrading of both Kariong and Doyalson to the 10/14 Roster, which the Union understands will be announced early next week, should hopefully see those stations' members, and the 100's more on the Central Coast Transfer Registers, lining up to help elect Jeff and a Labor Government.

Leading Firefighter FAQ now available

Further to SITREPs 8 and 9, an agreed Leading Firefighter test FAQ can now be found as a link in the online version of today's SITREP. The Department is now expected to publish the same FAQ separately, shortly. Senior Firefighter members with at least two years service at SF rank are reminded that that the deadline for applications is next 5pm Wednesday, 25 March.

Jim Casey State Secretary

Friday 20 March 2015