

SITREP 04/18

2018 Election of State Committee of Management Nominations now open

The NSW Electoral Commission has been appointed by the Industrial Registrar to conduct this year's tri-ennial elections for the Union's State Committee of Management. A copy of the Electoral Commission's election notice is attached to this fax notice. Please ensure that the attached election notice is brought to the attention of all members and placed in a prominent position on the notice board at your station/workplace.

The timetable for this year's elections is as follows:

| Roll of voters (financial members) closes: | Friday 16 February |
|--|---------------------------------|
| Nominations open: | Friday 23 February |
| Nominations close: | Thursday 15 March at 1700 hours |
| Deadline for withdrawal of nominations: | Thursday 22 March at 1200 hours |
| Ballot papers posted: | Thursday 5 April |
| Close of poll: | Thursday 26 April at 1700 hours |
| Count of poll: | Friday 27 April at 0900 hours |

The last three dates are later than provided for by the Union's rules and were determined by the NSW Electoral Commission owing to the Easter holiday period and revised (slower) postal delivery times.

Nomination forms are available from both the Union office and the NSW Electoral Commission.

The roll of voters has now closed but members' postal addresses will continue to be updated between now and the posting of ballot papers. Members who have changed address but have not yet let the Union know, or who simply aren't sure, should complete a change of address form via the Union's website as soon as possible to allow us to check and, if necessary, update your records to ensure that you receive your voting material.

Any enquiries concerning this election may be directed to Andrea Jackson at the NSW Electoral Commission, on telephone (02) 9290 5447.

Recalls and kms – clarification

Last week's Sitrep 3 item led some members to mistakenly conclude that the Permanent Award had changed or that the Union had agreed to revised arrangements for recall kilometers as a result of the Department's e-Recall trial that was due to commence this week. Not so.

The current entitlements to recall kilometres have been in place since 2014 and remain fixed by Award subclause 9.8, so any member who has performed a recall (within Sydney or elsewhere) since then and who was not paid return kilometres from their recall base station (as explained in Sitrep 3) is entitled to backpay and should a submit a claim for same asap.

Leighton Drury State Secretary

Friday 23 February 2018

Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW 2018 Election of the State Committee of Management



Election Notice

The Electoral Commissioner for New South Wales will be the Returning Officer for the 2018 election of Committee of Management for the Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW.

Nominations

Nominations are hereby invited on and from Friday 23 February 2018 for the following positions:

- President
- Senior Vice President
- Junior Vice President
- State Secretary

and thirteen (13) Sub-Branch Secretaries, one (1) from each of the following Sub-Branches:

- Sydney North Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone ME2)
- Central Coast Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MN2)
- Newcastle Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MN1)
- Sydney Central Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone ME1)
- Sydney South Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MS2)
- Illawarra Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MS1)
- Sydney Inner West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone ME3)
- Sydney Central West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MW2)
- Sydney Outer West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MW1)
- Sydney South West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MS3)
- Country Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zones MN3, MW3, RN1, RN2, RN3, RW1, RW2, RW3, RS1, RS2, RS3)
- Senior Officers' Sub-Branch of the Union
- Retained Sub-Branch of the Union

Nomination forms are available from:

- NSW Electoral Commission's website at www.elections.nsw.gov.au
- NSW Electoral Commission, Level 25, 201 Kent Street, Sydney, telephone (02) 9290 5924
- The Fire Brigade Employees Union of NSW, telephone (02) 9218 3444
- The Fire Brigade Employees Union website at <u>www.fbeu.net</u>

Qualifications

Candidates must be financial members of the Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW and must be nominated in writing by at least two (2) financial members of the Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW.

A candidate may not contest more than one Officer position. Where a member is nominated for more than one Officer position the Returning Officer will invite the member to withdraw their multiple nominations so as to limit their nominations to one position. If the member fails to do so before the time stipulated, i.e. 12.00 noon Thursday 22 March 2018, all nominations for that member shall be deemed to be withdrawn.

A member nominating for election to a Sub-Branch Secretary's position (except the positions of Senior Officers' Sub-Branch Secretary and Retained Sub-Branch Secretary) shall be either a permanent firefighter holding the rank of Station Officer or below, or a firefighter employed in the private sector, and in both cases they shall be employed within the region or area of that Sub-Branch.

A member nominating for election to the position of Senior Officers' Sub-Branch Secretary shall be employed as a permanent firefighter holding a rank above the rank of Station Officer.

A member nominating for election to the position of Retained Sub-Branch Secretary shall be employed as a retained firefighter.

Each Sub-Branch Secretary's position shall be elected in a separate ballot. All members shall participate in the election of each of the Sub-Branch Secretaries.

Lodgement of Nominations

Completed Nominations must be received by the Returning Officer, NSW Electoral Commission by no later than 5.00pm, Thursday 15 March 2018. Any anomaly in the Nomination Form must be rectified before this time.

A candidate may withdraw his/her nomination in writing so as to be received by the Returning Officer by 12.00 noon, Thursday 22 March 2018. A nomination cannot be withdrawn after this time.

Nomination forms can only be lodged with the Returning Officer at the NSW Electoral Commission:

- By hand: Level 25, 201 Kent Street, Sydney; or
- By post: PO Box 693, Grosvenor Place NSW 1220; or
- By fax: (02) 9290 5939; or
- Email: <u>ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au</u>

Voting

Should the election be contested, a draw to determine the order of candidates' names on the ballot paper will be conducted at 2.00pm, Thursday 22 March 2018 at the NSW Electoral Commission. Candidates or their representatives are invited to witness the draw.

All members of the Union who are financial members at the time when the roll of voters for the election closes, i.e. Friday 16 February 2018, shall be entitled to vote in the election for all positions.

Voting material will be posted on Thursday 5 April 2018. The poll will close at 5.00pm, Thursday 26 April 2018 and the count will be conducted at 9.00am, Friday 27 April 2018. The method of voting to be observed is Optional Preferential.

Any enquiries concerning this election should be directed to Andrea Jackson at the NSW Electoral Commission, on telephone (02) 9290 5447.

John Schmidt Returning Officer NSW Electoral Commission