

Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW 2021 Election of the State Committee of Management

Election Notice

Nominations are hereby invited on and from Tuesday 23 February 2021 for the following positions:

Nominations

- President
- Senior Vice President
- Junior Vice President
- State Secretary

Nominations - thirteen (13) Sub-Branch Secretaries, one (1) from each of the following Sub-Branches:

- Sydney North Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone ME2)
- Central Coast Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MN2)
- Newcastle Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MN1)
- Sydney Central Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone ME1)
- Sydney South Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MS2)
- Illawarra Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MS1)
- Sydney Inner West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone ME3)
- Sydney Central West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MW2)
- Sydney Outer West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MW1)
- Sydney South West Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zone MS3)
- Country Sub-Branch (FRNSW Zones MN3, MW3, RN1, RN2, RN3, RW1, RW2, RW3, RS1, RS2, RS3)
- Senior Officers' Sub-Branch of the Union
- Retained Sub-Branch of the Union

Nomination forms are available from:

- NSW Electoral Commission's website at www.elections.nsw.gov.au
- The Fire Brigade Employees Union of NSW, telephone (02) 9218 3444
- The Fire Brigade Employees Union website at <u>www.fbeu.net</u>

Qualifications

Candidates must be financial members of the Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW and must be nominated in writing by at least two (2) financial members of the Fire Brigade Employees' Union of NSW (other than the candidate).

A candidate may not contest more than one Officer position. Where a member is nominated for more than one Officer position the Returning Officer will invite the member to withdraw their multiple nominations so as to limit their nominations to one position. If the member fails to do so before the time stipulated, i.e. 12.00 noon Monday 22 March 2021, all nominations for that member shall be deemed to be withdrawn.

A member nominating for election to a Sub-Branch Secretary's position (except the positions of Senior Officers' Sub-Branch Secretary and Retained Sub-Branch Secretary) shall be either a permanent firefighter holding the rank of Station Officer or below, or a firefighter employed in the private sector, and in either cases they shall be employed within the region or area of that Sub-Branch.

A member nominating for election to the position of Senior Officers' Sub-Branch Secretary shall be employed as a permanent firefighter holding a rank above the rank of Station Officer.

A member nominating for election to the position of Retained Sub-Branch Secretary shall be employed as a retained firefighter.

Each Sub-Branch Secretary's position shall be elected in a separate ballot. All members shall participate in the election of each of the Sub-Branch Secretaries.



Lodgement of Nominations

Completed Nominations must be received by the Returning Officer, NSW Electoral Commission by no later than 5.00pm, Monday 15 March 2021. Any anomaly in the Nomination Form must be rectified before this time.

A candidate may withdraw his/her nomination in writing so as to be received by the Returning Officer by 12.00 noon, Monday 22 March 2021. A nomination cannot be withdrawn after this time.

Nomination forms can only be lodged with the Returning Officer at the NSW Electoral Commission:

- By post: PO Box 693, Grosvenor Place NSW 1220; or
- Email: <u>ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au</u>
- NSW Electoral Commission, level 3, 231 Elizabeth Street, Sydney. Note: The NSW Electoral Commission's office is currently closed to the public due to COVID-19 related public health requirements and NSWEC staff may be working from home. To ensure a NSWEC staff member is in attendance and to gain access to the office, please make an appointment via email <u>ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au</u> or telephone (02) 9290 5960.

Voting

Should the election be contested, a draw to determine the order of candidates' names on the ballot paper will be conducted at 2.00pm, Monday 22 March 2021 at the NSW Electoral Commission. Candidates or their representatives are invited to witness the draw.

All members of the Union who are financial members at the time when the roll of voters for the election closes, i.e. Tuesday 16 February 2021, shall be entitled to vote in the election for all positions.

Voting material will be posted on Monday 29 March 2021. The poll will close at 5.00pm, Thursday 29 April 2021 and the count will be conducted at 9.00am, Friday 30 April 2021. The method of voting to be observed is Optional Preferential.

Any enquiries concerning this election should be directed to Andrea Jackson at the NSW Electoral Commission, on telephone (02) 9290 5960 or ballots@elections.nsw.gov.au

Andrea Jackson Returning Officer NSW Electoral Commission